Edgewood City Government

The City of Edgewood was founded as a town in 1924 and incorporated as a city in 1973.   It is operated by a Council/Strong Mayor form of government.  The City Council is composed of five elected members who serve three-year, staggered, terms. The City Council selects a Council member to serve as President of the Council for a one-year term. 

Upon the start of a new council session, the council president shall designate areas of responsibility (not already under the jurisdiction of the mayor) to be assigned to individual council members. Each council member shall assume responsibility for the assigned area and execute his/her other responsibilities within the broad guidelines established by the council.